The TriOculaire + ensemble performs the Living Structures series, which is the culmination of four years of exploration in graphic notation by researcher-composer Linda Bouchard.

Three great names in improvisation – Charlotte Hug (Zurich), François Houle (Vancouver) and Lori Freedman (Montreal) – play the game of interpreting the drawings and visual manipulations of the composer using the digital tool Ocular Scores.

Let these three giants of improvised music take you on an explosive and fascinating musical journey that pushes the boundaries of expression.


The three musicians are in a triangular formation facing the audience. They look at two screens on the left and right of the stage where a graphic notation created in real time from the analysis of sounds is displayed.


Two versions of this installation exist: a scenographic version for a concert hall and a gallery version adapted for smaller places like art galleries, etc.

Technical riders detailing the materials and resources required are available upon request.





Charlotte Hug (voice and violin) is internationally recognized for her “music-visual” performances in unusual places. A musician of the extreme, she reinvents the viola by mixing its sounds with her voice.

François Houle (clarinet) is one of the most inventive musicians on the contemporary music scene in jazz, musique actuelle, improvisation or world music. He has released over 30 albums, some of which have been nominated for Juno Awards and West Coast Music Awards, and teaches at the Vancouver Community College School of Music.

Lori Freedman (bass and contrabass clarinet) is a 21st century artist. Known for her provocative and creative performances, she is equally at home performing her own compositions as well as those written by other musicians, often especially for her.

Linda Bouchard (composition, sound and visual treatment) Linda Bouchard has been active for over 40 years as a composer, orchestrator, conductor, mentor and researcher. She has received the Composer of the Year Award from the Conseil Québécois de la culture (1998), the Joseph S. Stauffer Award from the Canada Council for the Arts (1999), the Davidson Award (2017) and several SOCAN Awards (1983,1984,1986).